• Ruffina wins The Sprinters Cup (Gr.1)
  • Azzurro wins The Dr M A M Ramaswamy Stayers Cup (Gr.1)
  • Whomakestherules wins The Maj P K Mehra Memorial Super Mile Cup (Gr.1)
  • Kangra wins The Indian Turf Invitation Cup (Gr.1) in record timing
Ashwa Shakti Flaunts Horse Power in Abundance
By Mirror Image
Monday 05 Nov 2012
Trainer L V R Deshmukh leading Ashwa Shakti (P S Chouhan Up), winner of The Mir Fazilath Hussain Memorial Cup

Ashwa Shakti (Rebuttal-Speedwell) from the yard of L.V.R.Deshmukh, trounced the field, in the Mir Fazilath Hussain Memorial Cup, the feature event of Monday’s races at Hyderabad. The 3 year old who was the youngest among the pack of eight runners, gave an armchair ride to jockey P.S.Chouhan. Despite two disappointing runs as favourites,

Ashwa Shakti was backed to the exclusion of the other runners in the field. Showing plenty of speed at start, Ashwa Shakti went ahead to lead the field but was joined and passed by Commanding Heights within the first furlong after a sluggish beginning. Ashwa Shakti relaxed leisurely in second till the last 600 metres and from thereon moved effortlessly to grab the lead and stretch out on the home stretch. The Leader who braced the rear till the last 400 metres, rallied late to beat the rest and finish second with frontline taking the third place.

P.S.Chouhan was again in his elements, booting home a quadruple. Three of them, Vijay’s Winner, Ashwa Shakti and Win Joy were from Deshmukh’s stables, while the other, True Friend came from young S.S.Faisal Hassan’s yard. Hassan too had a profitable day with a double.

Chouhan piloted Vijays Winner (Shirocco-Suta) to a maiden win in the Adolfito Plate. Travaldo was up in front, on a start to finish bid but started to fade out once on the straight and Vijay’s Winner was quick to grab the lead. Fashionista and Superb came in late to finish second and third respectively. Zero Tolerance was a non-starter in the race.

Zoheb Shaikh schooled Fearless Moments (Mull of Kintyre-Jade Image) won the Youngster’s Plate. Fearless Moments and Dandelion were the smartest out from the gates and the two raced in front with the second named cutting the wind. Inside the last 300 metres, jockey J.H.Christopher started to work his way on Fearless Moments and the Juvenile started to lug out under pressure and began to shift out. Despite the drift from its course, Fearless Moments was gaining ground and went clear to win by a big margin. Dandelion finished second in front of Golden Phantom.

The 4 year old Zenas (Quest Star-Dancer’s Quiz) from S.S.Faisal Hassan’s yard, who had remained a maiden even after 25 runs, finally found the right turn of foot to win in the Moment of Roses Plate. Racing towards the rear till the top of the straight, Zenas was pulled out from the pack and when shown the daylight, got into rapture and flew past all of them in front to emerge clear. Pussy Galore, Bold Brigade and Over Taker filled the frame.

Hassan pulled off a back to back double with True Friend (Humn-Pussy Cat) in the higher division of the Taramati Cup. With leading jockey P.S. Chouhan assigned to ride, True Friend was sent in to the race as the firm favourite against his seven rivals. After a good jump, True Friend stayed with the front bunch for a furlong, then went ahead to the lead and was never headed. Azaiba, finished second, in front of Bold Reason and Maharadhi.

Deshmukh trained Winjoy (Refuse to Bend-Iies Piece) who had failed to show substance after her maiden win three months ago, bounced back under vigorous riding by P.S.Chouhan to lift the lower division. Major Luck showed up first on the home straight, with Ace Star and Win Joy in chase, close behind. Ace Star took the initiative and surged ahead to hit the front inside the last 250 metres and Chouhan beginning to go all out on his mount. Responding well to Chouhan’s urgings, Win Joy shot ahead towards the closing stages to emerge victorious. Ace Star and Major Luck finished second and third respectively.

Sheridan (Cool Creek-Sherie Rose) after a convincing maiden win towards the end of the monsoon season garnered strong support and was sent in as the firm favourite, in the higher division of the Own Opinion Plate. Faiyaz Shaikh’s 3 year old Sheridan was speedy at start, took the lead readily and made every post a winning one. Nearing the 400 board Sheridan veered out slightly to the discomfort of his supporters but jockey B. Dileep who had replaced an indisposed Kuldeep Sing, was quick to correct the waverly behaviour and kicked on. Montego Bay rallied along the inner rails to take the second spot.

It was a pulsating finish in the lower division with Anupam Sharma’s Kohinoor Destiny (Epicentre-Alero) appearing from out of the blue, to snatch the race on the last stride. Kianoosh had taken charge inside the last 200 metres and was looking good. Neeraj Rawal started to work his way on Kohinoor Destiny and the 3 year old responded brilliantly to cover a big leeway and put his head in front of Kianoosh at the wire. Even the race caller was taken by surprise, having confidently called out Kianoosh as the winner in his call.

J.Silvester trained Odalis (Hymn-Sublimely Single) carried the top weight to a pillar to post victory in the Grand Entry Plate, the concluding race of the day. Leading from the word ‘go’, Odalis kept increasing the lead throughout and won by a big margin. Ice Lolly and Racing Queen finished together for the minor placing.